Snape, Snape, Severus Snape

DUMBLEDORE!

I could say that today did not revolve around the midnight showing of Harry Potter tonight.

But then you’d have to give me some veritaserum, because I’d be lying!

Ok. Enough. Breakfast.

This morning’s agenda was packed; I knew what the solution was to getting out the door FAST.

a GREEN MONSTER! Ain’t she a beaut?

For those not familiar with this beautiful concoction, it’s green because of the spinach. Hear me out!

This blog may be called The Spinachsty because I love the leafy green stuff, but believe me when i say YOU CANNOT TASTE THE SPINACH. Rather, it tastes like a banana. But better, because you’re being so sneaky about adding those greens and other nutrients. And you get a cool-looking and yummy smoothie, to boot!

In my green monster, I typically use:

  • A big handful (or two!) of spinach
  • 1 banana
  • Scoop of vanilla protein powder
  • 1/2 cup soymilk

The supplies. Don’t buy that blender; it’s slower than a melting ice cap.

Blend and go! So nutritious and so delicious.

Errand #1: Dropping my iPod off at the UPS store to be sent in for repairs. This is my fourth iPod, and like its ancestors, it is dying a slow, mysterious death. Fortunately after #1 died suddenly, #2 got “corrupted” by software, and #3 was left on an airplane, I coughed up the extra $50 to give #4 a 2-year warranty. I bought it used, anyway; a good investment, since I accidentally left #4 out for an hour or so in Colorado rainstorm this summer.

I know. Bad, bad iPod owner. But it held in there this long, so I was lucky.

Errand (or rather, love of my life) #2: Gym! My gym has 3 branches on the Connecticut shoreline, so I used the gym in the same town as the store. Convenient! I played on the elliptical for a bit, and then I was able to take a BodyJam class! Ever since I started taking ballet at school, I’ve developed a love for the way dancing makes my body feel; namely, flexible and energized.  I’m sure I would love Zumba, and this gym branch is doing a launch next month! So excited.

Errand #3: Get soymilk. We were almost out.

Rushing back to the house to give the car back to Mom for work, I then distracted myself with the paper until noon. Lunch break!

(Anyone read that recent-ish article in the Times about the comeback of pie? I’m a fan. Cupcakes are cute, but not satisfying to me.)

Leftover rice mix (with sesame-ginger dressing, brown rice, edamame, chickpeas, & pine nuts) over spinach.

(Yes, more spinachstiness.)

The rest of the afternoon was reading a really good book and napping on the couch; I had to prepare for the night’s (er, morning’s) main event. I wasn’t in the mood but to eat anything but snacks for dinner:

Some Kashi cereal and soymilk.Kettle Corn (this is a 100-calorie pack. Can you believe it?!) with some hidden cinnamon and chocolate chips.

Mhmm, that is a quality Jane Austen novel-turned-movie in the background, Mansfield Park. Not bad!

Snape, Snape, Severus Snape, DUMBLEDORE!

 

Leave a Reply

